Disconnecting from Contract Tools License Server

Contract Tools disconnects from Contract Tools License Server (and stops using a license) when a user quits Word, locks their session, or signs out of Windows; and when a computer goes to sleep (for example, when the lid of a notebook computer is closed). (Contract Tools attempts to reconnect to the server when a session is unlocked and when a computer wakes.) In addition, a user can disconnect Contract Tools from the server by clicking the Disconnect button in the Subscription view. Here are instructions you can offer to your users:

To disconnect Contract Tools from Contract Tools License Server:
  • Show the Contract Tools pane, click the Subscription button, and then click Disconnect.

If Contract Tools is configured to connect to Contract Tools License Server only when Contract Tools is turned on in a document window (see Connecting to Contract Tools License Server to learn more), Contract Tools disconnects from the server when Contract Tools is turned off in all windows. However, due to limitations of Word, Contract Tools cannot disconnect from the server when a user closes the last window in which Contract Tools is turned on if other windows remain open. For example, if Contract Tools is turned on in one window and turned off in all others:

  • If a user turns off Contract Tools, Contract Tools disconnects from the server

  • If a user does not turn off Contract Tools and instead closes the window, Contract Tools does not disconnect from the server

See Connecting to Contract Tools License Server to learn about connecting Contract Tools to Contract Tools License Server.